By: Alison De Villiers
In Ohio, the required minimum automobile insurance limits for bodily injury liability coverage is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident. The required minimum for property damage liability coverage is $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. While this is all the State of Ohio requires of drivers, there are many risks involved in carrying only the state minimums.
It is important to have sufficient coverage to cover your assets in the event you are negligent and cause harm to someone. The law allows victims to take your assets to cover the excess damages once all available auto insurance coverage has been exhausted.
An Uninsured Driver
If you are involved in a collision caused by an uninsured driver, there is virtually no recourse for the damages you incur outside of the insurance policy that protects you. While you can sue the uninsured driver in court, it is highly unlikely that an uninsured driver will have any assets or money to pay for your damages. If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, you will end up suffering the losses with no recourse or paying the damages on your own. It is important to protect yourself from underinsured and uninsured drivers.
If you are the victim of a hit-and-run, which are often unbeknownst to the driver that causes it, your only recourse may be through your own auto insurance company.
No one wants to think that an accident will happen to them, but unfortunately they do happen every day. Make sure you protect yourself and your family with sufficient automobile insurance coverage, including uninsured motorist coverage.